Help me help my sister, please. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-01-2009, 01:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello!

My sister is about to have her first baby. She will be 30 weeks on monday and is on bed rest in the hospital. Her baby looks great, but is very small and her placenta is deteriorating, and there is a problem with blood flow through the cord (I'm a bit fuzzy on all of the details) but they are hoping to get her to 33 weeks. She will stay in the hospital until she delivers. She is terrified about so many things at this point, and it is breaking my heart being so far from her. She lives in denver and I live in Seattle. I am going to fly out there twice in the next little while but I think that I will be more help to her after she has the baby, and then when she brings her home. I am just starting to learn about what this is all going to mean for her and I want to support her and help her and send her presents and I just don't know where to start. I can't even seem to find any preemie clothes online. Do any of you have any suggestions, ways I could help her, maybe ideas on the best time to be with her to support her. She has a lot of friends in the hospital with her, and her best friend works at the local NICU so she has a lot of support. But I want to find a way to help make this birth and this experience beautiful for her and her husband even through all the hardship and the NICU and whatever will come. I just don't really know where to start. Thanks for any advice.

, mama to DS(7/)22/02) DS (8/14/04) , and an angel (3/10/10)nursing a broken heart...loving my boys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-01-2009, 01:55 AM

nak

mail her a copy of dr sears premature baby its a great one to read while on bed rest! also i used my (and still do) moby wrap it was a great fit for my little 3.7 lber.
Old 08-02-2009, 08:33 PM