My kid fell into a rose bush...trying not to worry. - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 09-25-2010, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We were at the botanical garden and my 18 month old tripped and landed on a low rose bush. One thorn went into his upper arm. There is a drop of blood. I disinfected it.

He has had 2 dTaps, one at 5 months and one at 9.5...

Do you guys have any idea how much tetanus protection 2 doses provide? Trying not to worry...

buddamomimg1.pngWriter/Designer/Hip Hippie Russian Mama to Torngtongue.gif (3yo) and Kboc.gif(4mo)

#2 of 10 Old 09-25-2010, 02:09 PM

He won't get tetanus from a plant. You have to get that from things like rusty nails. He'll be fine

HTH.

Me treehugger.gif Handfasted wife to M  geek.gif as of 3/7/10 , and Mama to R  reading.gif (1/31/01) luxlove.gif

#3 of 10 Old 09-25-2010, 02:12 PM

i am not a doctor, nurse or anything like that, but i truly don't believe falling into a rosebush would give any reason to worry about tetanus. a deep puncture wound on someone with very bad blood circulation, from something that can be infected with animal feces, is a danger for tetanus, from my research.

Artie, mom to Riley 3/22/08 and a surprise due Oct 2011!
#4 of 10 Old 09-25-2010, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maiasaura View Post
He won't get tetanus from a plant. You have to get that from things like rusty nails. He'll be fine

HTH.
Well, yes and no. The rusty nail thing comes from the olden days when rusty nails in the ground came out if horse hooves and had manure in them (tetanus grows in animal guts and comes out in the poop). You can't get tetanus from rust itself. Gardeners, however, are warned to update their tetanus vaxes because rose thorns can have infected earth and manure on them. That's why I am trying to find info on the effectiveness of two doses of dtap, but of course all the stats are for three and up. *sigh*