Considering tetanus vax... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 02-05-2011, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello!  Dh and I are considering some selective vaxing with our children, and feel fairly set on the need for a tetanus vax for our two older boys (ages 3 and 8).  Our youngest is only 8 months so we're not doing any at all yet for him. 

I just saw in a thread below that you cannot get a tetanus only vaccine in the US?  I'm just beginning my research at the moment, and was hoping you all could direct me a bit.  Is the DTaP our only option in the US?  Our ped said they are unable to get tetanus only vaccines, but that we should be able to order it through a pharmacy... I'm a bit confused now. 

#2 of 7 Old 02-07-2011, 08:01 PM

Hi there,

I just started a tetanus series with my otherwise unvaxxed kids as well.  Ds2 has had 2 of the 3 and DD has had 1 so far.  DS1 had the initial series as an infant, then we stopped vaxxing him.  I just recently had him get the booster.

You can sort of get a tetanus 'only' shot in the US.  I say 'sort of' because it's tetanus with the diphtheria component.  Your child's age will determine whether he'll get the TD or the Td.  (the big D is for younger kids, I think, the small d for older kids)

My ped had them stocked in single vial doses, mercury free with JUST the TD, NOT the pertussis component.  I had no problems at all requesting them.  They were great about showing me the labels and everything before they gave them so I could see what they were. 

If you haven't yet, check out Dr Sears's Vaccine Book.  He goes through the different ones available, including manufacturer info, so you can see the options and request specifically what you want.  It was 100% not a big deal here at all, at my mainstream peds office, who tolerate, but don't encourage non-vaxxing.

Hope that helps!

#3 of 7 Old 02-19-2011, 09:14 PM