Is it too late to start selective vaxing after receiving "regular" vax schedule from birth to 4 months old? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 09-12-2012, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am about to have my 6 month well visit with my DS and I have decided to use Dr. Sears selective schedule, but am wondering how this works since my DS has already received the everything from birth to 4 months (however, we declined the HEP B offered at the hospital when he was born). Does anyone have experience with this? Is it safe etc? Sorry if I sound ignorant about these issues, but I am very new to this and just want some information. Thanks!

Mom to DS1 (6-25-00), DS2 (3-16-12) and DS3 (2-20-14) Wife to DH (2-14-09)
#2 of 17 Old 09-12-2012, 04:43 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)

It is fine to have as much time between vaccine doses as you want. Even several years. The CDC says, "A vaccine series does not need to be restarted, regardless of the time that has elapsed between doses." http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/downloads/child/catchup-schedule-pr.pdf (top of page) The intervals between doses on that chart are the minimum intervals. There are no maximum intervals between doses for any vaccine. It is also fine to stop vaccinating at any time. 

Bokonon and kathymuggle like this.
#3 of 17 Old 09-12-2012, 06:43 PM

We started selectively delaying shots only after my son's two month appointment round of vaccines.  We felt his reaction was just moderate enough that we didn't want to risk overdoing it and began to really look into the research behind the vaccines.  Dr. Sears has several delayed and selective vaccine schedules in his book, but also remember to trust your instincts.  If something doesn't feel right to you and your child doesn't respond well to something its never too late to slow things down or stop giving a particular vaccine.  Make sure to find a pediatrician you trust and can ask advice when needed.