Rotavirus - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 77 Old 11-13-2012, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi

Im new to Mothering!

Anyway, my baby just got the first dose. Im on the fence about continuing it because its considered a new vaccine. Has anybody discontinued doses on a vaccine?

Ive tried to do my homework but I dont know what to believe anymore...

#2 of 77 Old 11-13-2012, 11:51 AM

I did. smile.gif Rotavirus is an easy one to refuse, too, because once they get past 8 months (I think?) they can't get it anyway.

Welcome to Mothering!!

Mi vida loca: full-time WOHM, frugalista, foodie wannabe, 10+ years of TCOYF 

R-E-S-P-E-C-T spells BRAND NEW User Agreement!!

#3 of 77 Old 11-13-2012, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter

thanks for the welcome!

yeesh, so much to think about when mindfully vaccinating!

#4 of 77 Old 11-13-2012, 02:05 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosaic View Post

I did. smile.gif Rotavirus is an easy one to refuse, too, because once they get past 8 months (I think?) they can't get it anyway.
Welcome to Mothering!!

I think you can get it past that age, it's just not as likely to be serious, so the vaccine risk benefit analysis the CDC does on your behalf falls on the side of not vaccinating after a certain age.

This vaccine just about to be made available in the uk which is great news in my opinion.

Mother of two living in UK. Daughter (2007) born in USA, son (2010) born here. I'm pro natural birth, midwife care, breastfeeding, co-sleeping, baby wearing and a keen advocate of cloth diapering. I'm a full time working research scientist (physical sciences) and I'm pro-vaccine.

#5 of 77 Old 11-13-2012, 02:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercy96 View Post

Hi

Im new to Mothering!

Anyway, my baby just got the first dose. Im on the fence about continuing it because its considered a new vaccine. Has anybody discontinued doses on a vaccine?