Need Help and Opinions!! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 12-14-2012, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have a 18 mo old and a 4 mo old that i am going in soon to get vaccines. A friend of mine just got her daughters 18 mo shots and a few days later if her daughter was in a certain positions she would whine and yell "owie." My friend is thinking she might of have some kind of arthitis from a vaccine? Maybe juevinile arthritis?? I am not good at digging thru information (which there is a TON of info out there to dig thru) I am just wondering at 18 months what vaccines do you really NOT need??? I need some help here from ppl that have actually dug and researched vaccines. I am pro some vaccines but i dont believe you need all of them. Some help here guys? Thanks!

#2 of 9 Old 01-04-2013, 01:00 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)

Bumping up for more input.  bump.gif

Married to a wonderful woman since 2010. Baby boy C arrived in June 2013!

Check out our User Agreement.
#3 of 9 Old 01-04-2013, 04:34 PM

I guess it depends on your own priorities and life circumstances. IMO at 18 months you need all of them. At that point you're wrapping up most of the series, anyway.
#4 of 9 Old 01-07-2013, 12:31 AM

I think what you might need to do is research each shot individually. Visit www.cdc.gov and look up the risk of exposure of each disease in your area. Think about what your child's risk of actually getting the disease is. 

You don't have to get more than one shot at the visit. If I was vaccinating (and we're not yet), I would only do one vaccine per visit. That way, if there was an adverse reaction, you would know what caused it.

Midwife (CPM, LDM) and homeschooling mama to:
13yo ds   10yo dd  8yo ds and 6yo ds and 1yo ds  
#5 of 9 Old 01-07-2013, 12:38 AM

The CDC has this to say about the Hep B vaccine:

"Other than babies of infected mothers, children aren’t at particularly high risk.