Flu shots for me and little one - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 08-23-2013, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

We are a pretty pro-flu-shot family. I work in health care and though my employer doesn't mandate the shot, I do get it every year. My husband is not in any risk group but gets the shot because he doesn't want to get the flu. Neither of us have ever had any problems with the shot (excluding minor stuff like soreness lasting a few days), and we haven't gotten the flu either. 

But up until now I have skipped it for our daughter (who turned 2 in June) because the Cochrane reviews said there was no efficacy greater than placebo in kids under 2. 

Also this year I will be pregnant for most of flu season. I'm due at the beginning of February. The year I had my daughter, I got the shot before I got pregnant with her. 

I'm interested in information that anyone might have about adverse effects of the flu shot in pregnant women, and also about efficacy in young children. 

I realize there are a lot of places to look for this information but I figured I'd start here for anything that someone might have at their fingertips. Plus, I no longer have institutional access to the Cochrane reviews. bawling.gif

#2 of 17 Old 08-23-2013, 09:42 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)

You've probably already read the package inserts, but just in case you haven't and you're interested, here they are.

http://www.fda.gov/BiologicsBloodVaccines/Vaccines/ApprovedProducts/ucm093833.htm

Some flu shots are Pregnancy Category B, and some are Pregnancy Category C.

If you do decide to get vaccinated during pregnancy, of course you should choose a thimerosal free shot.

#3 of 17 Old 08-23-2013, 09:51 PM

Quoted: 18 Post(s)