Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By DogStar

#1 of 10 Old 06-01-2014, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thinking of Vaccinating, need advice

When my daughter who is now 4.5, was born I decided to delay vax.

First a little background to explain my reasoning (however misguided it might have been), Im a vet tech (with fully vaccinated pets, lol) and we recommend dogs and cats do not get vaccinations until they are 8 weeks old, and the reason behind that is because they usually wean from their moms around then. Any vaccinations while they are nursing don't really work because they are still working with their moms immunities. Anyways, I always wondered why this didnt apply to kids. I intended on BFing till she weaned herself, asuming it was be a couple years. Well she finally weaned at four!

So at her last Dr visit I asked about catching her up, starting with MMR and Dtap separately. The Dr said she's make up a catch up schedule for me and send it. Well I got it, and it is basically one shot per month, three shots for each vax, so basically 1 shot per month for 6 months

Does this sound resonable? It sounds like a lot to me, but I admit I just dont know.

Thanks
applejuice likes this.

Sarah
Home-birthing, breastfeeding, bed-sharing, cloth-diapering Mom to Rhiannon Scout, born 11-21-09
#2 of 10 Old 06-01-2014, 11:50 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
What I would do first is check the recommended catch up schedule in your area and see what is required/recommended. Is it 3 DTaPs or 4? As far as I know, it should only be two MMR…the first usually results in seroconversion for 95% of the population and the second dose is to catch the 5% that didn't seem to acquire immunity from the first shot.