Non-vaccination, selective vaccination or delayed vaccination views in West L.A.?? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-17-2014, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lightbulb Non-vaccination, selective vaccination or delayed vaccination views in West L.A.??

Hi all,

My name is Gary Baum and I'm a writer at The Hollywood Reporter, a Los Angeles-based publication that serves an entertainment industry audience. I cover many non-business issues (from environmental to medical) that closely affect our readership. Right now, timed with the beginning of the school year, I'm working on a story about vaccinations, alternative schedules and personal belief exemptions -- particularly following the passage of AB 2109, a California state bill that went in to effect January 1st that makes it more difficult to claim such exemptions.

I have poured through Los Angeles County Department of Public Health data and noticed that there is a much higher exemption rate in West L.A. (our primary readership coverage area) than in Los Angeles County at large (10% versus 2% in 2013). This means that parents likely are seeking out selective and delayed vaccinations (or choosing against vaccinations altogether) for their children in far greater numbers than elsewhere. I have been speaking to many pediatricians, researchers and public health officials about this interesting, geographically specific phenomenon, but I also want to speak to parents directly about their preferences, as it's of course an important topic.

Might there be anyone out there reading this on Mothering.com who would be willing to chat with me who lives somewhere in the greater Westside of Los Angeles? I'd prefer to talk on the record, as readers trust and connect better with people using their real names, but can do so anonymously as well. My office line is 323-525-2102, and my e-mail address is gary.baum [at] thr [dot] com. For reference, my deadline is August 8th.