Mothering Forum banner

nursing necklace ideas (and pics?)

1K views 27 replies 11 participants last post by  wombatclay 
#1 ·
Heyla all!

So now that we have our beads (or most of us have them and the rest will soon) the really fun fun starts...how to string them!

I started playing with the beads las night and can't wait to continue later today...

If anyone wants a few ideas about stringing different styles beads into gorgeous necklaces, check out GreenLee's site (http://www.greenleesforest.com/ and she's an MDC mama). They aren't exactly "nursing necklaces" but they are beautiful and they're giving me all sorts of ideas.

Anyone else have a favorite beading inspiration page, or a page with ideas about cord knotting and beading?

See less See more
#6 ·
I love the links! I was thinking about holding off on my necklace until early labor... After seeing the links I might start it (just to get the hang of the knots) and save the rest for early labor. I always try to keep something for when labor begins so that I'm not watching the clock.

#10 ·
Wow Rock Dr...that's really nice!

I'm thinking I might actually make 9 or 10 pendants from the different beads and have a single woven necklace. That way I can leave the necklace on all the time and just swap out the pendant to suite my mood or to re-interest the babe. But I don't know! There are so many options!

#11 ·
Yay! I actually kept my promise. Here's a pic of my necklace. I guess they're all going to look similar when strung in this fashion. But oh well. I'm not going to use it as a teething necklace. More of just something to look at while birthing and a remembrance of this precious time. Plus it looks pretty cool drapped over my bedside lampshade.

http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p...garound011.jpg

#18 ·
that's fantastic sally z!

Nora's Mommy - you had asked about your affirmation. is it this one?