Who have you told? - Mothering Forums
July 2007 > Who have you told?
punquin's Avatar punquin 10:47 AM 11-02-2006
This is my first pg... I didn't realize it would be so hard to not tell everyone in site right away! And, it's only been 3 days! :

Who have you told so far?

DH was the first I told, of course. But I felt like I needed a support system to confide in as well... I guess, you aren't supposed to tell anyone until you are at a lower risk of a miscarrage, but the people I chose to tell are the people I'd want supporting me if that were to happen.

I told two friends who live across the country in CA - I have been talking to them both for over a year about ttc. I told my good friend and officemate (who just had a baby herself). I felt like I needed someone looking out for me at work. I work in the dog care industry. I used to work with the dogs - a very physical job - but now Iam the graphic designer. The managers of the dog care staff are used to asking to to fill in when they are short staffed, and I'm not good at saying no. My friend will help me moderate how much I do physically.

The one other person I told was my friend/neighbor who got pg on her first try partway through my ttc adventure. She's due in Feb. We are both the same size and have a lot in common. I thought it would be perfect to have a pg buddy thre doors down. She knew bout my struggle to get pg, too.

DH was okay with who I told, but was worried that they'd be telling their DH's. I am okay with it if they do. He asked me what the chances were that I wasn't really pg. After 3 different positive tests, I told him him there was not chance I wasn't pg. That it's just early, so I'm at higher risk of loosing it. I think it is finally starting to sink in for him. He's actually starting to refer to me being pg outloud...

bgb699's Avatar bgb699 11:53 AM 11-02-2006
I told my mother via e-card from peeonastick.com:
Roses are red,
Violets are blue,
I peed on a stick,
and in 9 months I'm due