High School Grad Gift? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 05-17-2009, 03:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My cousin will be the FIRST person in our family to go straight to a university out of high school. My Mom was the only one out of 5 kids to graduate from high school so going to college is a big deal. She has worked so hard for this. I have no idea what to get her. I want it to be something useful and special. Dorm room stuff is useful, but I want to get her something she will have for a long time, KWIM?

Mama to 3 amazing girls
#2 of 8 Old 05-17-2009, 06:09 AM

The family I used to babysit for (I was very close to them) bought me a nice daytimers when I graduated high school. They got me the first year refill and a nice folio with my initials on it. Very useful and nice gift I still have, long after my dorm microwave and fridge have gone to another student somewhere (or a landfill).

Mom to:

Three big girls  twins.gif (10) + joy.gif (almost 9!); 

One little boy ROTFLMAO.gif(6) and a full on toddler diaper.gif  (8/12) born with TAPVR heartbeat.gif (repaired at 6 days old).

#3 of 8 Old 05-17-2009, 09:16 AM

DSD is graduating in two years, and I am already planning...

I will be putting together "a little" basket with all kinds of stuff that one will need when starting to live on their own. Some items can be very personal, and others silly or useful.

Here is what I thought of so far:

Grocery gift card, a book on how to make the best of college, a roll of quarters for laundry, a planner, new pajamas, a plant (?), a nice notebook and a pen, a book on managing your finances, a piece of jewelry, pre-paid lunches university card, a frame for pictures, a small first aid kit (with band-aids and tylenol, etc), a book store gift card, a wallet, and an "I love you" letter.

Hope that helps.

New endeavor coming soon...
Raising Alice in Wonderland (DSD, 17), and in love with a Superman