If your middle schooler is home alone after school . . . - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-24-2009, 12:58 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How far away from you are they?

I think this is my 100th post about choosing a middle school/neighborhood for my child. Each week I make a new decision about where we're going to live and where DS will go to school next year.

Anyway, I found an option that, on paper and from talking to other parents, I really like. There are so many things about the neighborhood and the school that seem great!

But, it's 30 to 45 minutes from my work, depending on traffic. I work in a school myself, which means no flexibility, so he'd be arriving home each day to an empty house and staying alone for up to 3 hours (at least on the 2 days a week when there's no late bus and afterschool activities).

I can't decide whether this is a dealbreaker. I can't really imagine being 45 minutes away if something went wrong. On the other hand, if I can get over this, there would be so many advantages over any other neighborhood/school we can afford (the school is very diverse, with great arts programming, high test scores, lots of afterschool activities etc . . . and in a neighborhood where we could afford a house, with a yard for the dog . . . ).

What do you think?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-24-2009, 01:55 AM

I am also 45 minutes away from my middle schooler when he gets home from school. We live less than half a mile away from the middle and the high school but I work 45 minutes away from home. It has worked for us for two kids so far.

And I hate to be a Debbie downer but awful things can happen outside of school hours too. You could be around the block when a fire starts. When my oldest was 13 and youngest was 9 they were home alone when I was at an event with my 11 year old when we had a house fire.
Old 11-24-2009, 09:54 AM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)