No nonsense guide to healthy sex life for teenage girl. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 02-27-2010, 11:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm looking for a book.

Here is the purpose - I want something practical for DSD. I want to read it, make notes on sticky notes (got this idea from someone on this board about a year ago ), and pass it on as a healthy way of approaching sex.

So... Help me pick a book. Please!

The criteria:
* It has to be an easy read. Nothing too preachy.
* It has to touch on pregnancy, yeast infection, STDs, rape, AND emotional side of sex, etc.
* I want the book to lay down some healthy guidelines.

Thanks a bunch!

New endeavor coming soon...
Raising Alice in Wonderland (DSD, 17), and in love with a Superman
#2 of 14 Old 02-28-2010, 04:28 AM

I was a teen services librarian a few years ago, so I saw a few of these types of books pass by my desk. I remember liking the Seventeen Guide to Sex and Your Body. Though it must be awfully old now. I really liked Cycle Savvy for it's discussion of charting and whatnot, but I'm not sure it covered all the topics you're looking for.

Librarian, Blogger, Book Reviewer, Mama
#3 of 14 Old 02-28-2010, 04:32 AM

It's not exactly what you're looking for, but there was sooo much in Taking Charge of Your Fertility that I had no clue about, and I was in my late 20's when I read it. Totally inexcusable for me to have been so ignorant about my own body. I totally intend on having my DD read it when she's a teenager.

Trying to live a simple life in a messy house in a complicated world with : DH, DD (b. 07/07), DS (b. 02/09), and DD (b. 10/10)
#4 of 14 Old 02-28-2010, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter

Thank you for your advice, I will definitely check both out when I go today to B&N. I did put this one on hold. I can't peak inside, but the reviews for this book are outstanding.

So in case anyone is interested (or wants to comment on my choice?), here it is: