My 17 year old DS wants to... UPDATED #12 - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 05-13-2010, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
...move to Los Angeles this summer. Knowing one person there. Having no job, nor any job experience yet. To be a singer/actor. With an amount of money that would be easy to blow through if he can't find a job right away. Am I crazy to think this is a little, well, crazy?

This is my first time seeking advice from the parenting boards. As a little background, I've been a long-distance non-custodial parent most of my boys' lives. Their dad has raised them to think for themselves, which is very good, of course.

I've talked to DS about the idea of working for awhile but he just wants to get out of the middle of nowhere (eastern WA). I've suggested he move to the Portland area so he could be in a metro area and still close enough to both parents that we can help if he needs it. But he's 17. Need I say more? His dad has also made sure he knows the downfalls of moving like this and that he can stay at home until he has work experience and more money. He's visiting me for the second half of June so we'll have more time to talk about it. He does have a good head on his shoulders and can be very determined about the things he cares about.

Any insight? Thanks!

Kali (pka Michelle) ~ crunchy wife to Cory (09/06) ~ Mama to H (03/90) & I (06/92)--bothnocirc.gifbf.jpg BF for 35 consecutive months ~ angel1.gif x 4

#2 of 15 Old 05-13-2010, 06:05 AM

when does he turn 18? I don't think I would stop my kid from doing this if they really, really wanted to, but I would look into all the legalities of him being off on his own before he's legally an adult -- by that I mean I'd look into it with him, and see what pitfalls he might encounter, obstacles, etc, and he might choose to wait until he's 18 to go??? Or not...