Isn't this a little young? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 08-12-2010, 09:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Obviously I am not a boy so I have no experience in this department.

My son is 8 1/2 years old. I have caught him playing with himself on several occasions. He will shut himself up in his room and crawl under his covers. I can usually tell something is going on if he gets very angry when someone opens his door or if his sisters come in his room. I have gone in there to tell him it's time for dinner or he needs to join the rest of the family and he seems very embarrassed. Since he's under the covers it's not like I outright walked in and saw him. I pulled the covers back once and he had his shorts down so I know what he was doing.

This part is extremely humiliating for me to admit but I need advice so here goes........ I have a bullet (the small sex toy) and although I never use it when the children are awake and they've never witnessed me using it, I have forgotten to stuff it back in a drawer before. The kids have gotten curious about it and tried playing with it. I noticed one day that it was missing. I went into my son's room and heard it going. Once again, he was under his covers. I'm pretty sure he was using it on his penis. I think the vibration felt good for him. I took it away from him and told him he was never to touch it again. He cried and was so embarrassed but I don't think he has any idea what it really is. If he did he would probably be grossed out by it.

So, I know it's just normal experimentation and that most, if not all boys go through it. He has not hit puberty yet. How old were your boys when they started doing these things (if you even were aware)? My fiance says it's nothing to worry about and my son's dad has even said he sees nothing wrong with it (although I didn't tell him the bullet story). Just wondering if he's a little young for this?