HELP..10 year old step daughter and cell phone - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 02-10-2011, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi Everyone...I'm new to the forum and came looking for some advice. I am new to step parenting but not new to parenting.  My own children are 18 and 27.  My new step children are 6 and 10. My question is about cell phone usage and 10 yr old.  My husband bought his daughter a cell phone 2 years ago after his divorce so he could talk with her. She lives with her mom and we have them everyother week end and every wednesday. I am concerned about her phone for a couple of reasons..a) whenever she gets a call she heads off to her room to talk and 2. her texting. I've mentioned this to my husband but he says he's not concerned..she would never be talking to boys at her age (I am a schoolbus driver and disagee with him), only her girl friends.  Its not that I disagree but just dont know? We really dont know any of her friends .I have told him that he should check up on the phone and find out who she is talking with and texting to. What is evryones thoughts on this...maybe i need to chill out, but I think as a parent he should be more aware. Thanks for your advice.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 11 Old 02-10-2011, 10:23 AM

Is there some reason that she is not allowed to be friends with boys? I think it is a good idea to check who she is calling or texting, but I don't think it's a good idea to restrict a child to same sex friends.

#3 of 11 Old 02-10-2011, 11:52 AM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)

Quote: