plans for high school - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 02-26-2011, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My child has gone to magnet schools most of her life. She is doing music and performing arts. My daughter has played the violin since kindergarten. not only that, she self-taught herself to play acoustic guitar and keyboard. Her violin playing is smooth and kinda sounds like Izaak Perlman.

Her father and I would like for her to pursue her music in a magnet high school and my daughter would like to go to that school also.Trouble is she is not focusing on her classes and she is rebelling her teachers and us.

In my experience, public high school destroyed my hopes and plans for the future.It wasn't the teacher's doing, it was some students' low self-esteem. What can I do to help my daughter take her education seriously?

#2 of 4 Old 02-27-2011, 04:07 PM

I found, with both of mine, that it helped to remind them that the better they do at each level, the greater the options will be as they move on. Both had/have goals that they were striving for, so keeping that in mind helped them focus when things weren't as much fun or as interesting as they'd have liked them to be.

My oldest, while very bright, has always been one to kind of skate by when something didn't interest him. Reminding him to focus on his goal helped him at least do better than "well enough". And it's served him very well. He's attending an excellent university/conservatory, with a free ride except for room/board, studying what he's always wanted to study (Music Comp). He actually didn't make it into that program the first go-round. But by keeping his eye on that goal, he worked his butt off and was recommended for it by several of his first term profs.