9yo growth spurt? Is a big jump on the growth chart normal? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 05-19-2011, 12:31 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
My eldest just turned 9 so, of course, he's the one in the realm of "I've never done this before!" lol.gif

His appetite has seemed a lot bigger, lately. He'll eat two or three servings or still be hungry after a meal. When we go out, I have to be careful to order a large enough portion (probably not a kids meal, depending on the place) to ensure he has enough to eat.

And, he's clearly been growing. He's getting thicker in the torso to the point that the larger size underwear I bought that looked HUGE actually fit him really well. bigeyes.gif It's crazy to me how much he's growing! So, clearly, he's having a growth spurt... Right?

He just had his 9 year check up (a month late because he broke his arm and had surgery the day of his original appt) and we confirmed that he's gaining weight as well as getting taller. He's been about the 50th perecentile in weight for a long time and just jumped up to 75th!

I guess what I'm really wondering is how typical that is. DH is very tall (6'5") and DS has always taken after him - long and lean (DH isn't so lean anymore, but he was until college). DS doesn't look overweight at all, but he does like to run around at home without being fully dressed, so I can clearly see the changes.

Because of my own weight issues (starting much earlier than 9yo), I suppose I just want to be sure his growth patterns are normal. While I've always been a low- to no-sugar kind of parent, we've slacked off a little more in the last while, and I have some nagging fear that I'm not feeding him well enough and therefore he's growing for the wrong reason. eyesroll.gif

Like I said, this is all in the realm of totally new and unfamiliar, so I'd love any reassurance (or advice) from those who have been here and done this already. thumb.gif