What age did your teen start working? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 06-16-2011, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

DD1 is 14 and very much wants a job (a REAL job, not babysitting, or paper delivery, etc). CO labor laws say that 14 yr olds can work in a lot of different positions. Including food service, retail, office work, hotels, etc. I'm encouraging her to do this for a few reasons. My mom would not let me get a job until I graduated high school. I really feel that hurt me a lot. I went out in to the *real world* with no idea how the work environment was. Plus DD1 always wants stuff and we really can't afford it. This way she could buy her own makeup, pay for texting, etc. 

I'm just wondering how old other teens were when you guys let them get jobs?

#2 of 22 Old 06-16-2011, 06:29 PM

i think if they are ready for the responsibility that a job brings and if it doesn't interfere with other things (school, homework, activities, chores) then whenever they are allowed to work they should do it. one thing i have learned tho is that babysitting can pay way more than any real job

BirthIsAwesome and 2xy like this.

cold.gifme + headscratch.gif him and one littlecat.gifPaco the Taco hoping for one of these  makebabe.gifin the near future

#3 of 22 Old 06-16-2011, 06:43 PM

I haven't hit this milestone with my own kids yet, but I got my first job at 15.  Overall I'm glad I got that job.  It taught me valuable life skills.  However, some of the people I worked with were rather sketchy and it put me into situations that I was not ready for (drinking and drugs mostly).  That could happen just as much at school though so take my anecdote with a grain of salt.

Mom to REPlaySkateboard04HL.gif(12), bikenew.gif(7), energy.gif(5),  guitar.gif(4), baby.gif (born 7/8/11), dog2.gif, and chicken3.gif

#4 of 22 Old 06-16-2011, 10:02 PM

Quoted: 12 Post(s)