Daughter's First Period - Strange Things - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 12-26-2011, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My daughter is 11, turning 12 (my only child and I'm a single Mom so I'm completely new to all this) and has started her first period this year. I sat her down, explained what was happening and what was going to happen. I told her to let me know when she has a period and I will give her pads to use.

I notice strange things around the house such as blood being all over the couch. When I ask her if she had an accident, she says no.

I am also finding toilet paper soaked with blood in the garbage can and sometimes bits of blood soaked toilet paper on the bathroom floor.

I'm not sure what to make of this. I'm not sure if she is being lazy about menstrual upkeep or if she is too bashful to ask me for pads or what is going on.

I'm just wondering if any other Moms out there have been through this during their daughter's first year of her period, maybe she is just trying to adjust to what's going on?

To make matters worse, I overreacted about the blood on the couch. I know it was hers but I was shocked and upset that she lied to me about it.

Most importantly, why does she feel like she can't come to me for help? Finding these things around the house is pretty scary so how do I talk to her and what do I do?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-26-2011, 06:56 AM

That sounds tough. I would sit her down for another chat- go buy a few boxes of pads and let her keep them in her room. 

mdcblog5.gifsaynovax.giffambedsingle2.gifhomebirth.jpg

Old 12-26-2011, 07:20 AM

Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Rather than requiring her to come ask you for products, just keep them stocked up in her bathroom. Get a variety of products, show her where they are, then check up to see what she's running low on.