HOW do you keep your sanity? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 10-01-2012, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)

i am new to preteen behaviour.

dd just turned 10 and boy is she into it.

seriously. her teen friends ask her if she has started her periods. 

she hasnt but her body shape is turning into a teen.

and i am struggling to parent. i have been able to stay silent. we are v. close.

but now i have to become hands off too. i have never had to really discipline my child. i drew boundaries and she mostly kept to them. they were safety boundaries so there was no questioning them.

her reaction comes out in anger. and i dont know if i am jumping the gun here. her venting place is her home. she has to be too well behaved at school, in public and at her dad's. while she has thrown tantrums she has never, ever been disrespectful to her friends.

and now she is starting to. and i've had to ground her. she understands. 

but omg i cant handle it myself. 

how mama's do you cope. i see her making decisions which are really hard for me to take. she is giving up a coping strategy of her to fit in. 

she aks me to stop pressurising her. ok i get that. i'll back off.

how do you cope? how do you not worry your head off? how do you stay relaxed and not get an ulcer? gosh its sooo hard trusting that everything will work out. 

treehugger.gif Co-parent, joy.gifcold.gifbrand new homeschooling middle schoolerjoy.gif, and an attackcat.gif 
#2 of 3 Old 10-01-2012, 06:02 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

have some really good close friends you can always talk to! (to blow off steam)

i have always been a talker with my kids, or if too emotional/explosive a subject, we write to each other.

i also think it is ok to sometimes not be perfect...i think kids should know we are human with emotions! my mother hid alot of emotions, too much, and that really kept a wedge in our relationship.