14year old girl back talking..... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 07-20-2013, 07:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello! I'm new to mothering, but have a question. ... my daughter has been talking back a lot lately. I have grounded her and taken her cell phone, but to no avail. She's always been a stubborn child. I mean even from birth. I need some suggestions on how to curve this issue. Everytime she starts to back talk I immediately let her have a little reminder that she's overstepping her boundaries and that's how she gets in trouble, but sometimes she doesn't heed my warning. The other problem is some of the back talk is valid points. I've always taught her to be a strong individual. Help....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 07-20-2013, 09:02 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I do not have a teenager yet so take that this with a grain of salt. But I was a social worker and worked with a group of teenage girls so I do have that experience.

If the back talk is valid then I would not think of it as "back talk" but just her asserting herself, which I think is a good thing. I would try to listen to it and act accordingly, trying not to take her "tone" personally. I can imagine that is difficult!!! But validating her point, if it is valid, will do a lot for your relationship with her. She will trust you to listen and consider her opinion which is important.