Sneaky little teen - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 67 Old 09-14-2005, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi I'm a newbie here!
I was wondering what you all do with nosey little teens. I keep my bedroom door locked because we keep all the household medication in the bathroom off of my bedroom. Yesterday my daughter decided to break in to my ked: bedroom : and of course succeeded. Now I'm worried about her doing it again. Any suggestions?
#2 of 67 Old 09-14-2005, 04:24 PM

How is locking everything up teaching her responsibility?

-Angela
#3 of 67 Old 09-14-2005, 05:23 PM

Do you really thing she'd get into medication? I mean, I can see a little kid who doesn't know better doing that, but a teen? I was a sneaky little rebellious teen myself, but I never would've considered getting into any medication.
#4 of 67 Old 09-14-2005, 05:27 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Why do you think the medicine needs to be locked up from a teen is my first question? Has she had a drug problem or something? Are you locking it because of just her or are there younger children that concern you?

If having the door locked is important to you I would have an honest and open conversation about just that...why it's important to you, and respect. If she locked her door or her diary or something else would she want you to respect that boundary or would breaking in be acceptable? Did you ask her what she needed/why she was breaking in?

In my opinion, the place to start is conversation. Good luck

"The true measure of a man is how he treats a man who can do him absolutely no good."
peace.gif  Embrace the learning that is happening within the things that are actually happening!    
#5 of 67 Old 09-14-2005, 06:20 PM

Well, maybe I am not an expert since my teen is not "little" and not "nosey".

But if for some reason I would not want him to get to the medicine cabinet, I would talk to him about that reason.