I realized i have a tummy sleeper. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 11-09-2007, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I couldn't get dd to nap unless I was holding her. Finally this am I tried laying her down on her belly and voila! She slept for an hour.
Anyone else?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2007, 02:28 PM

I know Daniel prefers his tummy to his back...... we are pushing him to sleep on his back though because he starts childcare in a few weeks and they will have to put him on his back to sleep due to SIDS recommendations they need to follow (I am a state licensing consultant for childcare centers so I am well aware of their rules).............. it is hard though to follow those recommendations since I know he will sleep much longer on his tummy
Old 11-09-2007, 03:31 PM

DS was a tummy sleeper - still is actually. When I had DD everyone would ask me, "does she sleep on her back or her tummy?" And I always said "her back" and couldn't understand why people were asking me that when clearly "the instructions" say to put them to sleep on their backs. Then I got DS and figured it out - he did NOT sleep on his back. I didn't worry about it myself, because we were cosleeping, and I slept nose to nose with him - literally, we have a King size bed and we put him between us with his nose to our noses.
Old 11-09-2007, 03:53 PM

We have a tummy sleeper, too. In fact, he's the 3rd one. I think the fact that they were all bunched up in the womb is what makes most babies (in my experience) WANT to sleep on their tummies. All of my kids startled awake if they slept on their backs. Side sleeping was slightly better.

upsidedown.gif  Please see my Community Profile! energy.gif blogging.jpg about Asperger's Syndrome!

Old 11-09-2007, 04:23 PM

Sydney will sleep on her back if she's swaddled TIGHT, but right now she's asleep on her tummy

treehugger.gif Erika