Supporting breastfeeding moms - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 12-21-2001, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone. I just posted a message to the Breastfeeding advocacy forum about an article I read regarding a dispute over a mom who was breastfeeding in a public library. I found the article posted in a librarian's discussion board and found the messages there to be very condescending of the mother's experience, so I tried to bring a little seriousness to that group. I am a librarian so I was very upset that such a dispute could happen in a place like a public library.

Anyway, I have read about and have experienced through my wife (robin-ma on this board) the kinds of terrible things people can say to women who breastfeed and wanted to see what other dads have experienced and have said to counter the ignorant comments of people who ask mom to be discreet, to go in the bathroom, etc.

-Mike
#2 of 16 Old 12-22-2001, 12:56 PM

Hi,

I have not yet been able to get to read the site, but I often wonder what I would do if some buffoon made a comment to my dw about her public breastfeeding. I hope I would be nice and informative, possibly changing their views making them advocates.

However, more than likely I would adjust their dental work and wind up in a human-interest story on CNN like that woman who stole a sweater at an airport security checkpoint only to find that it contained a fake grenade.

Cheers.
#3 of 16 Old 12-23-2001, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter

LOL. My first reaction would be to get angry too! Hopefully I wouldn't end up as some CNN story, though.