Do you travel for work? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 11-08-2006, 01:14 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm looking for thoughts on dads who travel for work. Both from the side as a mom (me) left with the kids alone for days on end, week after week and doing the bedtime routine (the whole routine) by myself with 2 kids; and from the side as a dad (him) coming home to kids who are a little de-attached due to the separation. How do you re-connect with your kids? How do you handle the detachment? How do you stay connected with your wife?

See also:
Traveling Spouses
http://www.mothering.com/discussions...d.php?t=551581
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 11-13-2006, 12:21 AM

I have been traveling for business for 20 years. I had two children at the start of that who were 1 and 3 when I started. I now have a 6 month old (that is L'lyn).

Communication is key. Let the family know where and when Dad is going. Globes or maps help. Emphasized that Dad will be back and when. Let children know that plans change just in case of delays. Telephone everyday to say hi and hear about their day. One associate helps his kids with homework in the evenings via telephone and computer.

Mom should try not to burden Dad with too much of what went wrong and what he has to do when he gets home. Traveling is tiring and the extra guilt and burden knowing there is a long list of stuff to do when you get home creates bad feelings.

When Dad gets home a small gift for each child is nice proportionally to the length of the trip. If shopping is hard to do on the trip buy the item before Dad leaves and hide it in the trunk of the car or some similar place. I once bought my oldest daughter a Barbie at the local Toys R Us on the way home as I could not get to a store on the road.