Mothering Forums

Mothering Forums (http://www.mothering.com/forum/)
-   February 2008 (http://www.mothering.com/forum/415-february-2008/)
-   -   Cloth diapers...??? (http://www.mothering.com/forum/415-february-2008/865322-cloth-diapers.html)

jaxinsmom 03-16-2008 04:06 PM

I've never used them, and didn't imagine I would with this little one, but the recent article in mothering has me changing my mind. Here are my questions:
1. they say to put the soiled diaper in a dry bin until it's ready to be washed -- how does this not stink, and what do you do with poop (bf poop that's all yellow and stains clothes after 5 seconds...? shouldn't it be washed right away?)
2. what do you think of this diaper?
3. how many would I need?

I have a bag of disposables that I would like to return to the grocery story, but I need to figure out this cloth diaper situation first...

thoughts??

Dea 03-16-2008 05:03 PM

So I'll admit first that I am a cloth diapering newbie as this is my first baby, but we've been cloth diapering her from home from the hospital.
We have a dry bag we use for her soiled diapers, and it doesn't stink. I would bet that it would stink more if it were in a bin that was sealed shut, but with the air circulation nothing gets to fester. Also we wash diapers every day to every other day, so less stinky-ness.
My diapers are staining, but I'm not too worried about it, I have prefolds so it's not like they are $30 diapers. I do use baby oxy clean though and it helps, and sunning them also helps to remove stains, but it's my opinion that they are diapers, they're gonna get stained.
I've read that you should have 3 dozen diapers, I thikn that's crazy, I would say 2 dozen or even 18 diapers, depending on how often you change the baby and wash a load. Also remember that a cloth diaper will feel wet to the baby before a disposable one, they don't have as much absorbing power, but that means less freaky chemicals next to her skin.