naked children - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 24 Old 10-02-2009, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Recently, a group of my friends and I were at a playground when our toddlers all decided to spontaniously stripped off.....mother's complained.....*sigh* and said they "didn't so much mind the nakedness as the health and safety concern" (bare bottoms on slides)
Am wondering:
what diseases and infections are passed this way????
Is this actually a valid reason to keep children clothed or is it just something people are paranoid about?

Just wondering your thoughts.
#2 of 24 Old 10-02-2009, 12:08 PM

I'd be more worried about burned butts or scrapes in no fun places than disease... Unless your children were pooping/peeing all over everything...

Kas (24), Helpmeet to Stefan (25), Mom to Franklin Gaudelio 4/15/09, Jonathan Boswell 1/2/11
#3 of 24 Old 10-02-2009, 12:12 PM

Hmm.. I'm no expert but I think some worms and parasites can be transmitted. Also polio, not that it exists wild in this country. The parasite transmission doesn't seem likely to me either, but since you asked

Homeschooling mama to 6 year old DD.

#4 of 24 Old 10-02-2009, 12:20 PM

Google the fecal-oral route. There are a variety of infections that are spread in this way, including rotavirus, hepatitis A, hand, foot and mouth disease and several different parasites.
#5 of 24 Old 10-02-2009, 12:24 PM

There are a number of illnesses that can be tranferred if any fecal matter is left behind on playground equipment. A child could get it on their hands, and their hands touch everything and go everywhere if you know what I mean. I also think that the playground is not the best place for nudity, but I am on the more conservative side of the nudity spectrum, so to speak.
#6 of 24 Old 10-02-2009, 12:53 PM

There are good reasons that so many nudists carry a towel around with them, to sit on.....