Mothering Forum banner

FYI: Under $100 top convertible car seats. & States' car seats law

827 views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  MacKinnon 
#1 ·
Ok. Deleting the links. I feel stupid now.

#2 ·
I'm no expert but I think the first link you posted is outdated. A 30lbs rear facing seat with a over the head shield isn't recommended as a good seat I thought. It says the article was posted in 2006.

Thanks for sharing but I am interested in what CPST's think about the site and the info it gives out. I agree it is hard for new parents to figure out what is best in buying a car seat.

#3 ·
Hmm, yeah I agree with Katie T. The first link is way outdated. They recommend the Comfort Sport, which is just about the worst value these days in terms of how long a kid will fit in it (most infant seats fit kids longer RF than the CS!) And shield seats are a huge no-no.

#6 ·
The second isn't TOTALLY up to date either as Texas recently (like, this past year) passed a law that EVERYONE in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt....no matter the age or where in the car you're sitting. (It used to be that if you rode in the back and were 17 you could choose to be unbelted)

#9 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by VroomieMama View Post
My apology, I didn't look at the date that the article was published.

I think it was very sweet of you to post this. I agree that it is hard to find the most current best seat and newest laws. I don't think people are "knocking" you but want to make sure people are aware. Please don't take it personally.

#10 ·
Thank you. This made me feel better. I guess I'm just feeling somewhat disheartened b/c some of the posts I created asked certain questions that I really needed feedback on but only got few responses. It is as if people weren't really interested in giving ME feedback. I'm just insecure like that.

#11 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by VroomieMama View Post