What carseat? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 05-28-2011, 09:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I work in a school and we have a few booster seats we keep at work in case there's an unexpected situation where someone needs to transport a child. 

The other day I ended up using one to transport one of our 4 year olds, with older siblings and mom, so I grabbed a seat.  The next day, I hadn't taken it out of my car yet and I got in an accident.  Since I wasn't able to drive away from the scene, my insurance company says they'll replace it, and that I can choose something similar or cheaper.

I'm trying to figure out what to buy.  It was a Britax  booster, with a separate back and seat, maybe 6 years old.  I don't think I can ethically ask for something like a Frontier, because I'm sure it didn't cost that much new, but I'd love to have something with a harness as an option.

It needs to be easy to adjust, and easy to install, since it's something we move from car to car and use for unexpected situations. It also needs to be able to move between different size kids.

A nautilus?  Something else?

#2 of 17 Old 05-28-2011, 10:18 PM

Hmm.  A Britax booster was probably $100 or $120.  Our Parkway that's 6 years old was $100, but the back didn't come off so you probably have a different model.  So, while a Nautilus would be a very good choice for your requirements, it is most likely more expensive than the seat it's replacing.  (We bought one for $140 at Walmart; a few weeks later Target had some on sale for around $125.)

If it needs to be $100 or less then I think the Maestro would be the best choice.  I haven't used one, but they're highly recommended on carseat.org as a budget seat (around $80), and the top harness slot is the same as the Nautilus.  The drawback is that it's outgrown as a booster about the same time that it's outgrown harnessed.

#3 of 17 Old 05-28-2011, 10:32 PM - Thread Starter