need advice for emergency trip (funeral) with carseat - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 25 Old 07-29-2007, 10:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm sure it'll all work out fine, but I'm really nervous about traveling with dd's convertible carseat. We had a bear of a time installing it correctly in our car (Subaru wagon)...How the heck are we going to get it installed easily in our rental car?

The only other rental car experience for us was with the infant seat, which was super easy and quick to buckle in without the base.

Any tips or advice?

This trip will be stressful enough already; I don't need this extra anxiety about the bleeping car seat.

crochetsmilie.gif mama to DD 8/06, DS 9/09

Set the gearshift for the high gear of your soul jammin.gif
#2 of 25 Old 07-29-2007, 10:53 PM

I have no idea or experience, but is it possible the rental car company provides carseats? You'd still have to check their installation, but you wouldn't have the pain of uninstalling and reinstalling your carseat from your own car.
#3 of 25 Old 07-30-2007, 01:33 AM

What kind of carseat is it? I would not rent a seat. It might be a pain taking it along with you, but I'd feel much better having our own car seat.

CPST & mom

#4 of 25 Old 07-30-2007, 01:54 AM

I would NEVER rent a carseat.

Why was yours difficult to install? Might it help that the rental car will be new and have LATCH?

-Angela
#5 of 25 Old 07-30-2007, 03:04 AM

even though my carseat is a major pain to install, it never takes more that 5 minutes. what is making yours really difficult. be bery specific and maybe we can help

::
#6 of 25 Old 07-30-2007, 09:03 AM

I thought all carseats were hard to install?? Like, I thought that was on purpose, to make us crazy. My Marathon is a pita.
#7 of 25 Old 07-30-2007, 09:24 AM

I pretend that I WANT to "get comfortable with my installation" and that its good practice.

What kind of car seat is it? What is the hardest part?