Blood Levels - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 23 Old 11-13-2007, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I got my blood levels back. My beta was 13,000. I'm 5.4 wks pregnant. From what I'm seeing on line "normal" is around 7,300. Is mine high or normal? I've never gotten my numbers before.

My progesterone is 18. She said I should go on supplements b/c it's low. I've never done any of this before. Experienced mamas needed.

Amy - Blessed wife to Jesse (the best dad in the world), mother of 10 on earth plus 8 in heaven.   PROUD to be a Catholic! : winner.jpg familybed2.gifhomeschool.gif

#2 of 23 Old 11-13-2007, 05:37 PM

I'm not an expert on the hcg levels, but I am having my progesterone checked every week/2 weeks. Yours does seems low - my doc says he is looking for anything over 25 at this point. Thankfully it seems like progesterone is a pretty easy 'fix' - as part of my PCOS treatment I was taking a supplement for the last two weeks of every cycle and responded really well to it. So far, my numbers are holding on my own so I've been supplement free for the past few weeks.

Here's hoping that the progesterone bounces right back with a little extra help!
#3 of 23 Old 11-13-2007, 06:02 PM

Here is a good link someone gave me about hCG and progesterone. There are tables at the bottom. Link

At glance your hCG does look high but that could be caused by miscalculating the due date or twins. If you look at weeks 5 and 6 there is a significant difference so just being off by a couple days could really make a difference. My progesterone was 18 at 3w6d and I was told this was great. It looks like you are within the normal range. I guess progesterone should keep increasing right? So if I got mine tested again it should be higher than last time?

Rachel - Married to my Best friend & Mama to Quinn Patrick 7/18/08 - Mama to : Clover too
#4 of 23 Old 11-13-2007, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter