Mothering Forum banner

Birth Bead Necklace

1K views 23 replies 18 participants last post by  Stargirl 
#1 ·
I finally finished it up! It would been soooo long if we had had 40 beads. I did end up leaving 2 beads out from the mamas who sent more than one bead. So I just included one bead from each mama. Even then it's a pretty decent length.
Anyway, here's the pic!

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b2...8/necklace.jpg

Thank you to everyone, it's beautiful!

See less See more
#4 ·
Yay! I haven't started mine yet.

I've never done any bead work before, so I'm hoping I won't screw it up too badly once I find the time to actually put it together.

OP- yours turned out beautiful, btw.

#8 ·
Very nice!

I opened the package and looked at them briefly, but I haven't gotten anything to string them on or read any of the messages. That's on my to do list.

#13 ·
AWESOME!! I went to the craft store to get spacer beads and what not, but got a little discouraged because I was having a trying day as it was. So, I'm planning on going back tomorrow. Thanks for the insperation!!

#14 ·
They are beautiful!

BTW, what kind of spacer beads did you use? I am planning to head out to the craft store in the next day or two, and was thinking about what would be the best, but I have never really strung beads before (though I know it is not that hard, my daughters do it all the time).

I was even considering silver spacers, but not sure if they would look good or take away from the over all affect.

#15 ·
Oh, I forgot!

I am also taking a picture of each bead and making a scrapbook with all the little notes and the photos.
This way I will not only have the beautiful necklace, but a great little rememberance book to go with it!

#16 ·
I'm taking photos of the beads with their messages first too, before stringing them, because I don't want to forget who each is from.