when to stop massage while lying on stomach? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 02-19-2008, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
At what point should we not get a massage while lying on our stomachs? I am approx 14 weeks along and just found the most amazing place to get one and for $20/half hour and I would love to go again some time soon, but wasn't sure how far along before it's really not a good idea???

I did not see any kind of a set up (chair etc) that I could use to avoid lying on my stomach. I mainly have back issues, so skipping the back side just would not be an option.
#2 of 8 Old 02-19-2008, 03:08 PM

I'm not sure when the cut-off date is...probably when it starts feeling uncomfortable...but there are massage therapists out there who are trained in prenatal massage where you lie on your side, or they have special tables with a hole in it for the belly.
#3 of 8 Old 02-19-2008, 04:14 PM

I am a massage therapist trained in prenatal massage, and would recommend that you find someone who has specific experience is side lying pregnancy massage. There are specific points on the body (the whole body, not just belly) that should not be stimulated during pregnancy. For example, there is one on the foot that has been shown to consistently turn a baby...you don't want that touched unless your baby is breech and you are nearing the end. There is another point on the hand that can be used to induce labor.

So, don't go anywhere for a massage unless they know that you are pregnant. But, go...and relax!!!! It's the best!
#4 of 8 Old 02-19-2008, 05:12 PM

I got massages every two weeks through my ENTIRE pregnancy with ds. My therapist actually had a prop with a "belly hole". When he didn't have that with him (he comes to my house) we just propped me on pillows and worked side lying a lot.

April thankful mommy to my boys Big Red 3/06 Little Z 9/08 and happily awaiting the arrival of 10/10 :