Book recommendation thread - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-24-2008, 10:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
So I'm brand new to all of this pregnancy/baby stuff and I'm reading as much as I can about it. I checked out 10 books from the library and some of them are really great; some not so great. I'm hoping you all might be willing to throw out names of your favorites so that I can track them down. I'm looking for anything relating to pregnancy - birthing, breastfeeding, what have you.

I'll start with what I think is an incredible book, just published last year, and my absolute favorite of all books I've looked through:

"Dr. Robert Greene's Perfect Hormone Balance for Pregnancy"
(Robert A Greene, M.D. and Laurie Tarkan)

It's a great book - deals with adjusting hormones naturally and with medication (if necessary) in order to stay healthy, feel good, and protect the baby.

lori

Vegan mama to DD (9/08), DS (9/11), and many rescued furbabies. 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-24-2008, 11:02 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My fav's?

birth books
Ina May Gaskin -- Ina May's guide to childbirth
England Horowitz --Birthing from Within (pieces and parts of this one)

breastfeeding book
LLL- The womanly art of breatfeeding. (My pages are thin in this one!)

Me. Full-time intactlact.gif,homeschool.gif,waterbirth.jpgx2 Momma. Part-time Doula & WAHM. Married to my bff USMC CWO2. Momma to the big M energy.gif11/06 -- the lil' superhero.gif C 09/08 and belly.gifexpecting our 3rd & last 12/12.

Old 02-25-2008, 12:10 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I LOVE Ina May Gaskin. If I could drive to Tennessee to have this baby I would! Great book, definitely check it out!

Henci Goer's
"Thinking Woman's Guide to a Good Birth" comes highly recommended, but I wasn't all that crazy about the way she writes.

"The Birth Partner" I found very informative and a great read for anyone that is going to be at your labor with you.