7 weeks postpartum issues again... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 10-30-2008, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Baby is 6 weeks as of yesterday and i woke up in the middle of the night last night with full blown mastitis. I am a Lactation Consultant and didnt even know what to do..go figure. No waringing signs..i'm tandem nursing so i had no clue i would get something like this. I'm also a single mama..so not much rest for me. DS has been sleeping longer at night..that's the only thing i can think of..I had my older nursling bf during the night because he can normally empty the breast more thant he baby...but his sucking is harder and more painful. So today baby is nursing the infected breast and older ds is getting the other side. I would of thought that i would not have gotten this..however it can happen to any one. Also baby has a yeast rash on his bottom so i'm changing diapers more frequently. I changed to sposie till that goes away. I can barely get out of the bed and my toddler has free reigh of the house...i feel so bad that i can not even get him anything to eat. I just ordered take out and hopefully get something into my body. I dont want to take antibiotics but looks like i may...i've tried several natural remedies today garlic and lime juice...vit C mega does...rest..water...hot shower. Looks like i may try the vit c again and pray that it kicks it's.

Mami to fly-by-nursing2.gifds 4 wks, ds 2yo, ds 6yo, dd 11yo, ds 17 yo. novaxnoIRC.gifwaterbirth.jpg
#2 of 6 Old 10-30-2008, 06:36 PM

Oh mama, that's so hard, especially with a toddler and without your partner around!