Anybody here good at interior design? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 06-19-2008, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So, I think I have a good eye for these things, but wanted to get some opinions. I started painting the baby's room (using Behr Melted Butter 300A-3) and am definitely loving the color. Looks fabulous!

I've seen things on HGTV where they paint the ceiling a pretty color, especially in kids' rooms, and I was thinking of treating the ceiling like a 5th wall and painting it a nice pale blue. Of course crown moulding is going up as well, but that would be white. The room is pretty small, with a ceiling fan. I think perhaps it will help the ceiling recede, making the illusion of a larger room -- what do you guys think?

Any other ideas? If not blue, what color? Thanks ladies! Your help is much appreciated!

Carrie SAHM to Nora Caitlyn (5) and Finnley Dax (2) homebirthing, breastfeeding, babywearing, intactivist, doula mama!         
#2 of 27 Old 06-19-2008, 11:30 AM

www.hgtv.com is one of my guilty pleasures. Have you looked at the nurseries in the Rate My Space section of the site? Some of them are really pretty. There's also a web site/design blog called something like Apartment Therapy that has a lot of photos of really cool nurseries.

Anyway, I think a pale blue ceiling would be lovely - especially with the crown moulding. To make your ceiling seem higher, make sure the intensity of the blue is lighter than the intensity of the yellow.
#3 of 27 Old 06-19-2008, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscat View Post
www.hgtv.com is one of my guilty pleasures. Have you looked at the nurseries in the Rate My Space section of the site? Some of them are really pretty. There's also a web site/design blog called something like Apartment Therapy that has a lot of photos of really cool nurseries.