Did you incorporate any pregnancy/birthing/baby traditions from DP's culture? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 25 Old 12-12-2008, 03:44 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is my first time starting a thread on MDC, yay!

I'm just curious if any of you incorporated any pregnancy, birthing, or baby traditions from DP's culture, or from your culture for that matter.

My DH is Kazakh, and one of their traditions is that for the first 40 days after giving birth, the baby doesn't leave the house, and is only touched by the parents. In some ways, I can really see the benefits of this--it would give the mom time to recuperate from labor, the new family a chance to settle into their groove, and I guess it would protect the baby from germs.

DH wants to do this 40 days at home, but I have my doubts. I'm worried that if the *baby* has to stay in the apartment (450 sq feet!), then *I* will be stuck inside, too. It would be one thing if we had family here to come over and hang out, or run errands, but we don't. After DH goes back to work, it will be just me and the kid. And I imagine I'll get cabin fever! Besides, who would do the grocery shopping?

There is another Kazakh baby tradition that we're going to do. When the baby is 40 days old, the family throws a special party to officially welcome the baby into the world. The family elders take the baby's clothes off and rub sheep fat into her skin. Then everyone in the family ladles a spoonful of water over the baby, while saying a wish or blessing for her. Isn't that beautiful? DH's parents are coming from abroad for our baby's 40 day party, and hopefully some of my family will get to come into town, too.

So what did all of you do?

Mama lady to my lady baby born 3/09 on the kitchen floor.  Looking forward to seeing which room's floor the next one will be born on in October.  love.gif
#2 of 25 Old 12-12-2008, 09:16 AM

Congrats on your first post! :congrats