Has Anyone Ever Used a Donor of a Different Race? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 01-18-2009, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm relatively new to these boards but I have been considering sperm donation for a couple of months.

I'm a lesbian SMC (SMC = Single Mother by Choice) so I know quite a few people who have used donor sperm before to concieve. However, none of the families I know have used a donor of another race. I'm African-American and I found out that there are very few African-American sperm donors to choose from. A couple of months ago, I casually looked through many sperm donor catalogs most had less than ten Black donors to choose from (one cryobank had none!). Also, because I'm somewhat picky about the characteristics I would like in my donor (he HAS to be 5'10 and above, CMV negative, and have an "open identity") I'm only left with one or maybe two donors left to choose from.

I'm considering using Caucasian and/or Asian donors simply because there are FAR more to choose from. I'm interested in knowing your experience in choosing a donor of a different race and/or ethinicity than your own. Was your family very accepting of your decision and how do you respond to other's remarks (both good or bad) about having a biracial child?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 16 Old 01-18-2009, 09:23 PM

I'm not going the Donor Bank route... But I have used AA donors, I'm white.

My criteria is average or better - looks, height, weight, intelligence & health. Also, 18-25 years old. I choose my donors on an individual basis, their race is more of a side-note for me, as I don't care what race he is, as long he fits the rest of my needs. I'm not looking for future involvement or 'known' donors, either.