Please help me - a long post - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 04-02-2009, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone! This is my first time on this particular board and I am wondering if any of you mamas could help me out with my dilemma. Okay - I have a 5 year old son - I am white and his biological father is black. His bio dad has had nothing to do with him ever. We dated for about 2 1/2 years and when I found out I was pregnant I knew that he would not be involved and the both of us thought it was for the best (he is not one to take responsibility, drinks and bit too much, has no stability and no desire to take care of a child). About 2 1/2 years ago I met and married a wonderful man (who is white) and we have since had another wonderful little boy.

I have never told my son that his bio dad is black. I have actually not told him anything about him until about 5 months ago when he asked who his 'real dad' was (he was mad at his dad and wanted to get him where he knew it would hurt). Anyway, I told him a little but he really didn't press me for too much information and I didnt want to overload his mind. I told him that the next time we were at grandma and grandpas I would show him a picture of him. Well, we are traveling and I still have not showed him a picture and he has not said anything about it since.
Over the fall, my son said something about - white like us, he has also made comments lately about how tan he is compared to his brother (who is ghostly white) but he has not said it in an inquisitive way more of just a statement and then moves on to the next thing.