Would you move - change language again? Agonizing over a decision. - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 02-18-2010, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello! This is my first time posting in a long time... I am agonizing over a decision and need to collect opinions of people who actually have experience of kids growing up with different languages.

So here is the situation. We are a family speaking minority language (Russian) at home. DS, who is now 4.5, started going to a Steiner/Waldorf kindergarten for the past 1.5 years and just now beginning to speak English. It was not an easy process for him and very stressful for us, partly because he was going only 9-12 for 3 days a week, so his exposure to the language was limited. but here we are now, he is starting to speak sentences, but still quite simple words only. He is in a great kindergarten which we all love, and in a year he would go to a Steiner/Waldorf school which is a continuation of the same kindergarten, meaning all his friends will be going there as well. And the school is great, its just amazing.

But....

Me and DH are very keen to move.... to Berlin. Which would mean for DS to be thrown into German language which he has no knowledge of. We have been wanting to move there even before he was born, but something always held us up. First my degree program, then his job. Now we are finally free to move. But I am scared!!!!!! Scared it will be hard on DS, scared it will define him, being a stranger always, being in a new culture/new language/ always a stranger to other kids