Has anyone adopted their DPs community as their own? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 03-10-2010, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So we're at a transitional phase here, and want to 'grow a community' for our kids. DH's Asian community/temple is very close to our home, and it would be convenient to attach to that one given the proximity. My community/temple is a 30 min trek away, and more split into people from far away suburbs. We're really want to choose one community to 'go deep' if that makes any sense, instead of spreading ourselves out over several.

I have some reservations as I don't know how accepting people would be of me, and that I have no real background in DH's Japanese culture.

Anyone adopted their DHs communities? What were your experiences?
#2 of 12 Old 03-10-2010, 04:17 PM

I always tell people being half Mexican American half German born in the States, I had to be adopted by the Lebanese to finally fit in. DH's family has totally accepted me. That being said,we don't really hang out with a lot of Lebanese besides his family. On the long run I've realised we are most comfortable with people who are mixed like I am or mixed couples.
#3 of 12 Old 03-10-2010, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter

I would LOVE to meet other mixed couples...where to find them, with the idea of becoming friends, is the question...
#4 of 12 Old 03-17-2010, 03:10 PM

I dont know how much help this will really be to you since I have no idea where you live! But I can give you our experience, and DH's, if you like

My DH is mixed, English/Italian/Japanese. He spent some time growing up in Japan, and it was a bit rough on him. He was teased quite a bit for being mixed, and called 'gaijin' a lot. Its made him very hesitant to reach out to the Japanese community here in Utah.