Mothering Forum banner

How would you deal with this bilingual child's issue?

5K views 67 replies 18 participants last post by  MamJam2303 
#1 ·
I've posted previously on raising my daughter as a bilingual, and I am coming across a relatively new issue and was wondering if any of you have experienced it and/or if you have any advice.

DD is almost 4. We live in the U.S., dad is American (minimal Arabic) and I'm a native speaker. I speak to DD in Arabic exclusively (regardless of who is around or what the situation is). Result= DD is fluent in Arabic (at 6 year old level really in terms of vocabulary and maybe even sentence structure). DD knows I speak English. I speak it with her dad and others. I am a college professor of English. She's visited my classes and seen me teach. Once, when she and her dad dropped me off at work, she said "Mama is at the college now. She's going to speak English."