Ideas: Volunteering with DS in a Spanish-language country - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 06-07-2013, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Any tips on volunteering abroad with a child?  DS, almost 8, is in Spanish immersion, and I'm thinking ahead and dreaming of a future service trip wherein we (1) use our Spanish and (2) volunteer for a few weeks during a summer (I'm a teacher).  For example, I would love to work in a school or orphanage.  We also love animals very much and would love to do something along those lines.  I appreciate hearing of any of your experiences or resources you are aware of.  Thank you!

#2 of 4 Old 06-09-2013, 09:47 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I just wanted to say that that would be an amazing experience for him! There are a lot of "pay to volunteer" experiences available around the world but I am not sure if they have age restrictions. Often you can find smaller NGO's by doing an internet search- for instance "Animal rescue in ---- " and maybe contact them directly. That would allow for a more authentic experience, perhaps. I lived in India for two years and that is how I found some amazing volunteer opportunities. If you do it alone (not through a volunteer-tourism company) you can donate more money directly to the cause you're helping. 

I lived in India for two years and had a few amazing volunteer experiences, one in particular- an organisation was mentioned in a national newspaper for the work they did, I tracked them down and I spent 2 weeks working at their orphanage- they didn't ask for a donation whatsoever and were not used to foreign volunteers. I stayed off-site and was able to donate a usable amount to them because I didn't use a go-between.