Learning to read bilingually. - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 07-21-2013, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have two children, DD is 5 and DS is 3. We raise them bilingually. I'm SAHM and speaking exclusively German with them. DH speaks English. We live in the US. Both children are fluent in both languages and are very aware and outspoken about the fact that they are bilingual.
Now, Kindergarten is coming up for DD, and upon enrolling her, I was told I really had to work on her knowing the alphabet. So I started drawing her pictures and writing words (in German, because that's the language we use together) and she copied the words and colored in the drawings. She already knew all the letters from nursery school as I found out, she just considered writing pretty boring and preferred other activities (quite according to her age in my opinion.) Anyways, we are making some progress and I told my SIL who is an English teacher living in Germany. And SIL recommended not to go on teaching her any writing and reading in German, because that would confuse her, since even though both languages use the same alphabet some letters are pronounced differently. And I should wait, until her English writing/reading skills are reasonably good, before introducing German writing. So I'm wondering, if SIL's advice is a good one. How do other bilingual families go about introducing written language skills in the language that is not taught in school?
#2 of 5 Old 07-21-2013, 05:45 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Honestly? I would ignore S.I.L. While I am sure she has good intentions, all evidence shows that children who are biligual do really well long term, that any differences between the languages in how long people take to learn is evened out by the age of five or six all other things being equal. I think you are giving d.c. an advantage in language by teaching her at home two languages. Keep on the track you are on!