Braiding Hair - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 04-01-2008, 04:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello! I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on how i can learn to braid hair (cornrows, individuals, etc). i know there are dvd's out there, for instance... but i think most of them are geared towards learning how to do it *better*, whereas i have no experience braiding at all. also, my daughter (who is biracial) doesn't have a common type of african american hair... so that adds another element to the mix. I am caucasian, and i used to have my hair braided often... but it took some amount of skill to be able to do tight braids on my texture hair! people would comment on how it was hard to "grip" while braiding it. my daughter's hair is somewhere in between. also, is there something i could practice on? my daughter is too young to "practice" on... but i'd like to get an early start on knowing how to braid; i've always enjoyed my hair being in braids, and my mother in law has already mentioned how beautiful DD's hair will be when/if braided. and i know some people do it for YEARS before they become especially proficient, so i don't think it's ever too early for me to learn it!

ok, i'm sooo sleepy, so this post isn't as articulate as i'd like it to be... but please reply, nonetheless!
#2 of 5 Old 04-03-2008, 01:09 AM

How old is your daughter? I started young with mine, and I would put a few little puffs in the front, with a braid on each side in the back, and then graduated to a couple of cornrow - style braids (not tight). She is four now, and she has four cornrow braids down the back and a ponytail on each side with six little twists coming out of each one. I highly recommend doing little twists on little girls - they are easier to pull out and re-do, and don't take as long to put in.