Encouraging a language only one parent speaks? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-01-2008, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm American, DF is German, and we're hoping to raise our baby (due in December) bilingual - however, we'll be living in the US for the forseeable future, and my German isn't very good (I've been studying it for less than two years). I can understand it when it's spoken clearly, but really can't speak it myself beyond a very basic level - so all the responsibility for whether the little one learns it or not seems to fall to my DF. I know it's going to be hard for him to remember to speak German to the baby, as well as just to feel comfortable doing so - especially since I have older children from a previous marriage who won't understand a word!
What can we/I do to ensure the new baby does learn German, and also to help the rest of the kids catch up? If you've been in a similar situation, were you successful? One thing I thought might help the older kids (and the little one later) would be children's movies and books in German - does anyone know a good source for these (the different DVD regions are a problem with movies)?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-01-2008, 03:42 PM

We're in a similar boat, DH speaks French, I speak and understand ok, but can't really express abstract thoughts or carry on an adult conversation in the language. And my accent and grammar, well, let's just say that I know my MIL loves me, b/c she doesn't cringe when I open my mouth!

I can't tell you that it's worked for us, b/c DD is only 21 months, but she does understand French, and began speaking it a bit during a recent visit from my ILs. I think that hearing adult conversation in French really spurred her development, and I'm determined to have it continue. I'm planning to host monthly brunches for our Francophone friends.