Curious newbie question - Is any parental direction "allowed" in unschooling? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 10-18-2010, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi there! I'm somewhat new to the concept of unschooling, but it's something I find fascinating. I'm not a parent, but do very much plan to be a parent someday. I've been thinking about what kind of education I would like to provide for my children.

I was wondering whether it follows the unschooling principles to offer any direction to the child at all? Strange as it sounds, one of my favorite childhood memories is learning algebra as a young child on my father's lap. I realised that I have always had a dream of repeating this experience with my children, someday.

Also, one thing that my parents didn't do a lot of was talk to me about money. I've often thought that when my children are young I would like to sit with them and show them how budgets are made, how credit cards calculate interest, how to save for retirement, etc. This would somewhat resemble schooling, but I think it would be a big ommission if I didn't share this information with my kids too.

Any feedback? I guess I'm just trying to figure out what unschooling "looks" like in practical terms. Thanks for reading, and I appreciate any responses.
#2 of 13 Old 10-18-2010, 09:17 PM

Location: In the middle of nowhere, at the centre of everything.
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Short answer: yes!