Unschool Thyself - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 10-19-2012, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am currently learning line drawing.  I have never taken an art class (ever, not even as a little kid) but since my kids are demanding we draw together for hours at a time, I have gotten into the whole thing.  And ya know what? I am starting to think I could learn a thing or two.  So I am teaching myself some stuff.  This way, I am also a better drawing partner for my kids. They are both very keen on learning to draw and really invest time and energy on their work.  The least I could do is do the same :) and see where that gets me....

So here is a question for you guys: What are you learning?  

#2 of 19 Old 10-19-2012, 08:16 AM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)

Origami.

Raising chickens, though I've been doing it for 4 years now there is still so much I don't know.  We did fair this year, and it was as much a learning experience for me as it was for the girls.  We raised chicks ourselves this year--steep learning curve!  I read the Backyard Chicken forums regularly, guessing sex and breed (in my head, at least, I rarely post there) and learn 10,000 more things I never knew.  Looking to raising chickens for meat as well as eggs in the next couple of years.  I'm hoping to help my neighbors butcher their birds in a few weeks.

I'm not learning anything much separated from what the girls are wanting to learn.  There isn't enough time in my day right now, and I'm having fun learning the same things for now.  So, it's origami and caterpillars!

Emaye likes this.

Give me a few minutes while I caffeinate.
#3 of 19 Old 10-19-2012, 08:35 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
I also learned art. Then computer art -- using Microsoft paint, not a package that does most of the work for you. I love it! Undo really frees me. No more erase marks! Just click "undo"!